+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Becoming a Landman

Not Me

Becoming a Landman

How does one do so?

I'm a graduate of the University and have some completed some graduate coursework. I have little work experience.

I've begun feeling out my personal contacts in the area, but the collective Shag wisdom is always appealing.

Given the issues with the economy and the price of oil is this still a viable career option? Or is it kind of like looking to start flipping houses?

Thanks.

asshat SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. SullHorn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night.
    You're going to have a hard time competing with the graduates of the PLM programs at OU and TTU--especially right now, as the market is down and practically everyone is on a hiring freeze.

If I were in your shoes, I'd look to become a land tech at a mid-size independent and work your way into a full landman role, or shoot for the stars and try to see if some of the personnel-strapped majors are willing to "convert" and train you--try for Oxy, Marathon, Apache, Anadarko, and maybe Exxon (although that will be hard I think). Good luck!