+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 28 of 28

Thread: Home network wifi booster?

  1. #1

    Home network wifi booster?

    Is there a product you guys can recommend to boost the signal of AT&T uverse router? Even better would be some kind of repeater. Does this exist?

    My folks have their router set up on the far east side of the house, while the living room is on the far west. The signal out there is predictably weak which makes for poor FaceTime action.

    Unfortunately moving the router to a more central location is not an option. I have moved the router up as high as I could in the room it's in as well. That made it possible to get signal out in the living room but it's weak. Thanks.

  • #2
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    Do you have the ability to run a cable from the router to the living room? (You should be able to use an electrical socket solution). If so, adding another WAP there would do exactly what you want, but of course you need the cable. I do know that you can mate two Linksys WAP's to use one as a repeater, but I've never tried it and it wouldn't work with uverse.

  • #3
    asshat Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson slams and goes hard. Wooderson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Emporium
    Posts
    5,073
    Not to threadjack, but I am still rolling on a G. Should I move up to N? Anyone have a recommendation? Right now running on our wireless is: PS3, Wii, DTV HD-DVR (via AC outlet), iPad, two iPhones, and two laptops. We stream Netflix on different devices, as well.

  • #4
    asshat beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer Shaggy Gold Club beer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Greater than 300 yards from an elementary school
    Posts
    11,902


    can this thread be about government conspiracies now?

  • #5
    asshat Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant Shaggy Gold Club Durant Durant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    15,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Wooderson View Post
    Not to threadjack, but I am still rolling on a G. Should I move up to N? Anyone have a recommendation? Right now running on our wireless is: PS3, Wii, DTV HD-DVR (via AC outlet), iPad, two iPhones, and two laptops. We stream Netflix on different devices, as well.
    Do you have any problems with your G?

  • #6
    What I envision is something that dad can plug in in the living room area that picks up and amplifies the signal.

    Does WAP=Wireless Access Point? Not certain what those are but I've heard the term. Unfortunately there's no attic access between the areas and that part of the house is slab.

    What is this you said about "outlet solution?"

  • #7
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    Yes. Basically a wi-fi router is a router plus a WAP.

    Powerline Networking

    Essentially it allows you to use the electrical lines in your house as ethernet cables. I installed one for a guy years ago and it seemed to work pretty good. They have pretty good speed now (up to 200Mbps or so), but really since your internet isn't going to be running more than 10-30Mbps you don't need anything fancy.

    So, you could plug two of these adapters into your electrical outlets (one near the router, one in the living room), then connect a WAP in the Living room. There are some things you can do, like setting up the same passwords and SSID on both the router and the WAP but different channels, to make it all act like one seemless network.

    Or if you do the Linksys solution (assuming they still have the feature), you can marry the two into the same network directly (though you'd need to buy two linksys wireless routers to make it work).
    Last edited by Hellraiser97; 11-30-2010 at 04:11 PM.

  • #8
    asshat ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. ousuxndallas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,873
    I had this same exact problem at my in-laws.

    Buy this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...nder%20netgear

    It takes your wireless signal and boosts it. Perfect for the other side of the house with a weak signal.

  • #9
    asshat dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555 slams and goes hard. dark54555's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    1,368
    Or just turn off the uverse router wifi and put a real wireless router behind it. Signal on those uverse boxes wireless tend to be pretty awful, and any wireless repeater will slow your network down.

    IMO, if you need a repeater, the cheapest/easiest option is the Apple Airport Express.

  • #10
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    It's out of stock unfortunately!

    I'd tried some of those solutions in the past, but they always seemed to have trouble if you were not using the same brand router.

    Here's a cheaper one with good reviews:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-035-_-Product
    Last edited by Hellraiser97; 11-30-2010 at 04:24 PM.

  • #11
    asshat UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD grows his own roses UTinBigD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    3,882
    i use an electric line dealy-o and it works pretty well. have it plugged in to my sat box and x360. Have an ancient wireless G router and was getting around 27MB/s file transfer between ethernet cable compared to 23MB/s going through the wall sockets. So it did not seem to slow down too much.

  • #12
    Thanks guys. I just read online that you can request AT&T to "power up" your router. Sounds like bull$#@!.

    97, could I hire you to upgradya Coolhand? Pm me with prices. Hourly and hardware if you're interested.

    Coolhand keeps Shiner very cold at all times as if he's about to host an impromptu bachelor party fwiw.

  • #13
    asshat Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6 can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Xminus6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,033
    I just ordered an Apple Airport Express for myself. It can act as a repeater or a wireless transmitter. I'm going to be using it as a transmitter on my upcoming trip because the wireless signal at my in-laws' house is awful. Just plug it into the wall and connect via an ethernet cord and it's a wireless routers. If you want to use it as an extender you can plug it into the wall and do that as well.

  • #14
    NAACP National Champ Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks has a gigantic e-peen. Snacks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    British Broadcasting Company
    Posts
    32,767
    Quote Originally Posted by dark54555 View Post
    Or just turn off the uverse router wifi and put a real wireless router behind it. Signal on those uverse boxes wireless tend to be pretty awful, and any wireless repeater will slow your network down.
    This is the answer... once I got Uverse and threw 3 TVs, a desktop, and 3 laptops on that 2Wire router, it went to crap... The wireless capability of that 2Wire box is terrible, and turning on WEP makes it almost unbearable...

    I turned the wireless off on the 2Wire, plugged in a wireless router, and WAH-LAH*. I still have the TVs plugged into the 2Wire box, and everything is fine. offloading the "computer" routing to another router makes the whole network faster...


    good luck



















    *debockle.

  • #15
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    Quote Originally Posted by lowery21 View Post
    Thanks guys. I just read online that you can request AT&T to "power up" your router. Sounds like bull$#@!.

    97, could I hire you to upgradya Coolhand? Pm me with prices. Hourly and hardware if you're interested.

    Coolhand keeps Shiner very cold at all times as if he's about to host an impromptu bachelor party fwiw.
    While I'd like to help, I think the commuting costs would probably be prohibitive! (I'm in NYC)

  • #16
    asshat KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN Shaggy Gold Club KC-97HORN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Tailgate Season'er
    Posts
    9,896
    Quote Originally Posted by Hellraiser97 View Post
    (I'm in NYC)
    {chorus} NEW YORK CITY?{/chorus}


    Get a rope

  • #17
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    Don't make me neg rep you.

  • #18
    Ok. Explain this like you would to a child or an unfrozen caveman lawyer.

    I need to get him a router to plug into the back of his AT&T router? This will naturally be a stronger signal?

    To clarify, he doesn't have uverse tv, just the Internet. So the router/modem isn't the flat silver box but a smaller white deal. I'll find out the model number.

  • #19
    Duke of New York Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97 Shaggy Gold Club Hellraiser97's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    21,569
    Yeah, just turn off the wi-fi for the uverse router/modem. Go buy a decent wireless wrouter. Plug the uverse modem into the the plug that says 'Internet' on the back on the new router. Set up the new router (using a web interface). Adjust any wi-fi devices to connect to the new router. Profit.

  • #20
    Ok great. Thanks.

    Other than his iPhone, he's got an iPod touch and I think he just got a rocku player for the bedroom. That's it. For ease of use, I think I'm going to get him an airport extreme.

  • #21
    How should I connect this to his modem? cat5,6,7,fear?

  • #22
    Head White Devil rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic might be a clever chap. or know the right people. know what i mean, nudge nudge? rage-a-holic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    SW Austin
    Posts
    19,068
    Quote Originally Posted by lowery21 View Post
    How should I connect this to his modem? cat5,6,7,fear?
    sub-space hyperspanner

  • #23
    Does monster make those? I hope so.

  • #24
    asshat Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. Leander Horn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Leander
    Posts
    2,196
    Quote Originally Posted by lowery21 View Post
    Ok. Explain this like you would to a child or an unfrozen caveman lawyer.

    I need to get him a router to plug into the back of his AT&T router? This will naturally be a stronger signal?

    To clarify, he doesn't have uverse tv, just the Internet. So the router/modem isn't the flat silver box but a smaller white deal. I'll find out the model number.
    this make it sound like he has DSL. What's his download speed? If you're not sure just go to speedtest.net and see.

    How should I connect this to his modem? cat5,6,7,fear?
    cat 5 should work

  • #25
    fucktard Crosby is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares?
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    4
    apple airport express , its a bit expensive but its really awesome . . . !!!

  • #26
    Quote Originally Posted by dark54555 View Post
    Or just turn off the uverse router wifi and put a real wireless router behind it. Signal on those uverse boxes wireless tend to be pretty awful, and any wireless repeater will slow your network down.

    IMO, if you need a repeater, the cheapest/easiest option is the Apple Airport Express.
    Quote Originally Posted by Xminus6 View Post
    I just ordered an Apple Airport Express for myself. It can act as a repeater or a wireless transmitter. I'm going to be using it as a transmitter on my upcoming trip because the wireless signal at my in-laws' house is awful. Just plug it into the wall and connect via an ethernet cord and it's a wireless routers. If you want to use it as an extender you can plug it into the wall and do that as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby View Post
    apple airport express , its a bit expensive but its really awesome . . . !!!
    Apple Airport Express is great. Mine has worked very seamlessly with my network. Plus, it has Audio out, so you can plug into a stereo. Then, you can stream from iTunes as well as your iOS device to the Airport Express. I'll stream Pandora from the iPad or anything in my iTunes on my laptop. Use the Remote App on the iPod Touch to control your iTunes library. It works great.

  • #27
    Looks like I should have just gotten him the airport express.

    I bought him the Airport Extreme. Amazingly, while the data transfer rate was noticeably better on N, the range of the signal from the Extreme was actually worse than his ATT modem/router. So, because my brothers gift to dad depended on a good signal in the living room(appletv), and that was our initial goal, we had to go out and buy the Airport Express anyways.

    Now he does have N rocking throughout his house, and it only cost double what I thought. Son fail.

    Is there a way I can boost the Airport Extreme signal without the Express? For future reference?

  • #28
    Quote Originally Posted by HoosierHorn View Post
    This is the answer... once I got Uverse and threw 3 TVs, a desktop, and 3 laptops on that 2Wire router, it went to crap... The wireless capability of that 2Wire box is terrible, and turning on WEP makes it almost unbearable...

    I turned the wireless off on the 2Wire, plugged in a wireless router, and WAH-LAH*. I still have the TVs plugged into the 2Wire box, and everything is fine. offloading the "computer" routing to another router makes the whole network faster...


    good luck



















    *debockle.
    Do you have a link to a simple write-up for this for noobs? I know just a little about intertrons workings. I've got uverse and the signal kinda comes and goes when I move farther away. Meanwhile, I've got an old n router just sitting around.

  • + Reply to Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts

     

     

    Home .. Advertise .. ShaggyShop .. PanchoChat
    Football .. Basketball .. Baseball .. Other Sports .. RC Didn't Offer .. Gamboool
    Varsity .. Hole in the Wall .. PCL .. Einstein's .. Nasty's .. GM Steakhouse .. NSAA
    Bada Bing .. Can you help me with this? .. Shagslist .. Cloak Room .. Classics .. Bellmont