+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: Can you jailbreak an iPhone to use on a Sprint Network?

  1. #1
    asshat mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    I believe in Coach Strong!
    Posts
    49,605

    Can you jailbreak an iPhone to use on a Sprint Network?

    So the wife wants to upgradjya when the new iPhone 5 comes out this year. So I can have her old 3Gs. I currently have a $#@!ty old Treo 350 that I have with Sprint. Don't want to change my carriers as I have a $15 a month employee plan that somehow is still hanging on. Can I jailbreak her iPhone and use it with my Sprint service? If I jailbreak it, can I still put music on it and sync it with a Mac?

    I have searched online but can't find anything definitive. The Treo does not have a SIMM card.
    Last edited by mdmost; 03-15-2011 at 03:46 PM. Reason: Fucking iPad

  2. #2
    asshat Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84 slams and goes hard. Rigo84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Garland
    Posts
    3,194
    No, the iphone uses gsm networks and sprint is a CDMA network.

  3. #3
    asshat mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost Shaggy Gold Club mdmost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    I believe in Coach Strong!
    Posts
    49,605
    Well I guess it is my next iPod then. $#@!.

  4. #4
    asshat Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sand Aggy
    Posts
    3,362
    yes you can. go to the sprint store on north lamar (3800 N Lamar Blvd)

    there is a guy in there (manager I believe) that has done it for a few friends of mine. I know the guy personally so if you would like more info/need a reference (he won't do it for randos) PM me and I will put you in touch with him.

    It's not cheap but can be done.

  5. #5

    possible cretin

    hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain is a rep whore. hitbyatrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    silently judging you
    Posts
    18,561
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    yes you can. go to the sprint store on north lamar (3800 N Lamar Blvd)

    there is a guy in there (manager I believe) that has done it for a few friends of mine. I know the guy personally so if you would like more info/need a reference (he won't do it for randos) PM me and I will put you in touch with him.

    It's not cheap but can be done.
    I don't know who told you that, but you can't use an att iphone on a cdma network. It might be possible with a verizon model, since they're cdma.

  6. #6
    asshat Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Holy Shit, it's me!
    Posts
    14,116
    from what I understand you can't do this. Sprint won't allow non-sprint phones to be activated on their network. GSM phones were designed to go from network to network, hence sim cards. CDMA phones are not and thus don't have sim cards, so it would be much harder to activate on another network.

    on the off chance that you could you'd need the verizon iphone, not att.
    Last edited by Viper; 03-15-2011 at 03:52 PM.

  7. #7
    asshat Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sand Aggy
    Posts
    3,362
    I have no idea whether it is at&t or verizon, but I do know that it can be done with the iphone.

  8. #8
    DERPTY DERP DERRP ACK!! MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm Shaggy Gold Club MrPhlegm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    ADIOS MACK!
    Posts
    32,383
    $#@!ing radios, how do they work?

  9. #9
    asshat 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    God's Country! TEXAS!
    Posts
    11,109
    I paid $50 to have an old TMobile Blackberry Curve "unlocked" for my wife to use on AT&T. It would receive calls, but it couldn't communicate with the AT&T data network (i.e. no email). I threw it in the trash added another line and got her a new Torch for $99.

  10. #10
    asshat Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Holy Shit, it's me!
    Posts
    14,116
    Quote Originally Posted by 244335 View Post
    I paid $50 to have an old TMobile Blackberry Curve "unlocked" for my wife to use on AT&T. It would receive calls, but it couldn't communicate with the AT&T data network (i.e. no email). I threw it in the trash added another line and got her a new Torch for $99.
    it's known tmobile and att are "compatible", but I've never really heard anything about verizon and sprint being "compatible" despite their both using cdma. att and sprint are not compatible in any way shape or form.

  11. #11
    Choo Choo Motherfucker The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Tower
    Posts
    4,346
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    I have no idea whether it is at&t or verizon, but I do know that it can be done with the iphone.
    I was actually quite active in the iPhone hacking community last year.....

    The ONLY WAY POSSIBLE this might EVEN HAVE A CHANCE at working is by using the Verizon iPhone....

    2 completely diff technologies, and considering that it was just this week hacked to work on cricket (another CDMA tech) I know you are full of $#@!......

    The AT&T one can work with tmobile, the Verizon eventually theoretically should be able to be hacked to sprint......

    You are talking out your ass... Or your friend is lying to impress you...
    Last edited by The_Reason; 03-15-2011 at 04:26 PM.

  12. #12
    asshat ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night. ToY can play the whole course with a 4 iron. At night.
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    ATX
    Posts
    8,694
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper View Post
    from what I understand you can't do this. Sprint won't allow non-sprint phones to be activated on their network. GSM phones were designed to go from network to network, hence sim cards. CDMA phones are not and thus don't have sim cards, so it would be much harder to activate on another network.

    on the off chance that you could you'd need the verizon iphone, not att.
    This. As far as I know, Sprint will not activate a device that does not have a Sprint logo on it. They probably verify this by checking the ESN. I'd guess that you might be able to spoof the ESN and fool Sprint into allowing you onto the network, but it seems like more trouble than its worth.

  13. #13
    Choo Choo Motherfucker The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Tower
    Posts
    4,346
    Quote Originally Posted by ToY View Post
    This. As far as I know, Sprint will not activate a device that does not have a Sprint logo on it. They probably verify this by checking the ESN. I'd guess that you might be able to spoof the ESN and fool Sprint into allowing you onto the network, but it seems like more trouble than its worth.
    After talking to a buddy, this is right on...

    He tried this for 6 months with droidx, about once a week when sprints system runs an esn check, the system flags his account, and it deactivated the device, has to be re-programmed.....

  14. #14
    no way possible. but if you tell this story to a chick and she believes you, then rest assured, you're going to $#@! her
    that night
    because she's stupid.

  15. #15
    asshat 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335 Shaggy Gold Club 244335's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    God's Country! TEXAS!
    Posts
    11,109
    Quote Originally Posted by Viper View Post
    it's known tmobile and att are "compatible", but I've never really heard anything about verizon and sprint being "compatible" despite their both using cdma. att and sprint are not compatible in any way shape or form.
    That's what I thought as well and why I was shocked when the guy told me that it wasn't communicating properly with the network. Maybe it had something to do with it being a Blackberry? Hell, if I know. It turned out for the best anyway. She likes the Torch more than she would have liked that $#@!ty old Curve.

  16. #16
    asshat Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson grows his own roses Swanson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sand Aggy
    Posts
    3,362
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Reason View Post
    I was actually quite active in the iPhone hacking community last year.....

    The ONLY WAY POSSIBLE this might EVEN HAVE A CHANCE at working is by using the Verizon iPhone....

    2 completely diff technologies, and considering that it was just this week hacked to work on cricket (another CDMA tech) I know you are full of $#@!......

    The AT&T one can work with tmobile, the Verizon eventually theoretically should be able to be hacked to sprint......

    You are talking out your ass... Or your friend is lying to impress you...
    I'm simply relaying the message. I have no idea what service can be hacked, I just said that I know a guy that claims he can do it. No need to be a $#@! about it.

    Thanks for the -rep though, hope that satisfies your inner nerd.

    If you want to argue the tech behind it, talk to him, not me. Chill the $#@! out.

  17. #17
    Choo Choo Motherfucker The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Tower
    Posts
    4,346
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    yes you can. go to the sprint store on north lamar (3800 N Lamar Blvd)

    there is a guy in there (manager I believe) that has done it for a few friends of mine. I know the guy personally so if you would like more info/need a reference (he won't do it for randos) PM me and I will put you in touch with him.

    It's not cheap but can be done.
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    I have no idea whether it is at&t or verizon, but I do know that it can be done with the iphone.
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    I'm simply relaying the message. I have no idea what service can be hacked, I just said that I know a guy that claims he can do it. No need to be a $#@! about it.

    Thanks for the -rep though, hope that satisfies your inner nerd.

    If you want to argue the tech behind it, talk to him, not me. Chill the $#@! out.
    Anytime, you do know it "can be done" and that is bad info....

  18. #18
    asshat Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper grows his own roses Viper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Holy Shit, it's me!
    Posts
    14,116
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    yes you can. go to the sprint store on north lamar (3800 N Lamar Blvd)

    there is a guy in there (manager I believe) that has done it for a few friends of mine. I know the guy personally so if you would like more info/need a reference (he won't do it for randos) PM me and I will put you in touch with him.

    It's not cheap but can be done.
    If he's a manager or something, maybe he's adding an esn for it to the system? Would seem odd that a manager would have that ability but that's about the only way this would make sense.

  19. #19
    asshat homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares? homer is probably perfectly normal.  Probably. Maybe. Who cares?
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    3,414
    NO. IT CAN NOT BE DONE.

    not even with a verizon iphone, let alone an at&t (gsm) phone.

  20. #20
    asshat SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn is probably pretty witty. or good at photoshop. or porn. SubliminalHorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Here, there, everywhere
    Posts
    9,378
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    I'm simply relaying the message. I have no idea what service can be hacked, I just said that I know a guy that claims he can do it. No need to be a $#@! about it.

    Thanks for the -rep though, hope that satisfies your inner nerd.

    If you want to argue the tech behind it, talk to him, not me. Chill the $#@! out.
    your dumb

  21. #21
    after following the phone/android hacking community, i should know that anything electronic and has a program running it can be hacked. so i searched and found this video. don't know if it's a hoax or not but this guy did hack the VZW iphone to run on sprint. i can see this since they both use CDMA.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJr7P5P0QRM

    but then i saw this video.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysAVJjY8I58

    and this video

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wN_dqU-n-cQ


    so...who the $#@! knows. no ways it's possible with an at&t iphone since it's gsm. but it *may* be possible with a VZW iphone.

  22. #22
    Choo Choo Motherfucker The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason grows his own roses The_Reason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Tower
    Posts
    4,346
    Quote Originally Posted by crash_davis View Post
    after following the phone/android hacking community, i should know that anything electronic and has a program running it can be hacked. so i searched and found this video. don't know if it's a hoax or not but this guy did hack the VZW iphone to run on sprint. i can see this since they both use CDMA.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qJr7P5P0QRM

    but then i saw this video.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ysAVJjY8I58

    and this video

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wN_dqU-n-cQ


    so...who the $#@! knows. no ways it's possible with an at&t iphone since it's gsm. but it *may* be possible with a VZW iphone.
    Yep, which is what I said above

  23. #23
    asshat spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes is a rep whore. spankytoes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Humblebragging Manhattan Travel Douche
    Posts
    14,874
    Quote Originally Posted by LongRod VonHugendong View Post
    I'm simply relaying the message. I have no idea what service can be hacked, I just said that I know a guy that claims he can do it. No need to be a $#@! about it.

    Thanks for the -rep though, hope that satisfies your inner nerd.

    If you want to argue the tech behind it, talk to him, not me. Chill the $#@! out.
    Actually, you provided two different versions of events. In one you know a guy that claims he can do it. In the other you have friends that have this successfully done. If the first is true, the second is plausible. If the second is not true, then it brings into question the basis of the guy's claim. In either case, one or more parties is full of $#@!.

  24. #24
    Like others have said, you cannot use a GSM iphone on a CDMA network. Two completely radio technologies that would require the iphone to have a dual-mode (GSM+CDMA) chip.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Home .. Advertise .. ShaggyShop .. PanchoChat
Football .. Basketball .. Baseball .. Other Sports .. RC Didn't Offer .. Gamboool
Varsity .. Hole in the Wall .. PCL .. Einstein's .. Nasty's .. GM Steakhouse .. NSAA
Bada Bing .. Can you help me with this? .. Shagslist .. Cloak Room .. Classics .. Bellmont